Oh Instant Pot!

I have joined the ranks of Instant Pot owners. I can’t believe I gave into peer pressure, all while not believing I didn’t get one sooner.

With the food elimination diet and all of the changes, I decided getting one would possibly make my life easier. I mean, how many times do I forget to take out dinner so I just went and grabbed something quick and easy? How many times did I say “we’ll just order pizza”?

Luckily I have a big family so an 8 qt isn’t too big for us. Amazon is sold out of the 6 qt for a few months so we hit order now and bam it showed up a few days later. I admit I was scared. Here’s this new kitchen gadget that everyone promises will change my life. What if it falls short? What if it blows up? What if I hate it? Oh the pressure (giggle)!

img_1324

Okay this doesn’t look so scary. Sure it’s a little heavy and maybe a little confusing, but let’s just jump right in! I ran the steam test cycle, and it seemed to work fine. I decided that tonight was going to be my test run and if dinner screwed up,  then we would have sandwiches.

I found a youtube video that was making a pork loin so I loosely followed that. Then I found another where she put potatoes in with her pork loin so I just said “Go big or go home!”

img_1340-jpg-1

That’s a Smithfield pork loin, 2 cups of vegetable broth (better than bullion vegetable), and yellow potatoes seasoned with olive oil, fajita seasoning and Monterey seasoning.

I closed the top, hit the meat cycle, put it at 40 minutes (bigger roast and more potatoes) and let it go. Whew that was scary.

img_1341

Now I admit I wasn’t sure that it was actually doing something until I started to smell the stuff cooking. It was very faint at first, and then got stronger. Some steam naturally escaped, which freaked me out, but it kept cooking so I just let it do its thing.

After it was done cooking, I let it naturally release for 10-12 minutes, and then released the rest. When it was safe to open, this is what it looked like.

img_1342-jpg-2

From raw to completely cooked and ready to eat in about an hour. I am in love with this! The pork was perfectly cooked, and the potatoes were well done and had a ton of flavor. I am very impressed and very happy with my investment.

img_1343

If you have any doubts, get one. If you are unsure, don’t be. Take the plunge. Join the Instant Pot club. You will not regret it!

Leave a Reply

